Things I was concerned about before Ander was born, part three

Third: Muscle tone (originally written sometime between 1/4/14 and 1/5/14).

“I’ve been on modified bed rest for several weeks, but it was only today that I really noticed how much muscle tone I’ve lost in my calves. Yikes! My doctor has me scheduled to meet with a PT this week to at least get me going on some exercises I can do, though it’s going to be a long rehab to get back into any kind of shape. I was told that even standing for an hour is going to be super difficult when I’m finally back on my feet. When I’m lucky I’m allowed to walk down the hall to get my own water, and if I make it to next week (!) I’ll get to go to the next building over for my first fancy biophysical marker ultrasound (though I might have to be wheeled there). A wheelchair is totally better than being rolled on a gurney, however, as I was when I was taken to get my PICC line. Made me dizzy and made me feel more feeble than I wanted to feel!

Today I got ambulatory privileges back, which will make life a little easier. Now I can do a lap around the hallway and get myself water, which is actually pretty nice not to have to rely on the nurses all the time. Plus, there are better views from the hallway windows!

Other things you notice on bed rest – your nails really do grow super fast during pregnancy.”

No pulmonary embolisms for me!

No pulmonary embolisms for me!

 

First day of hospital bed rest. I don't think you can even tell I'm pregnant...

First day of hospital bed rest. I don’t think you can even tell I’m pregnant…

Second (and last, really) day of hospital bed rest. I like this one because I actually have a belly. Also, that is the teddy bear I was concerned about when they rushed me into surgery.

Second (and last, really) day of hospital bed rest. I like this one because I actually have a belly. Also, that is the teddy bear I was concerned about when they rushed me into surgery.

 

Off to get the PICC line!

Off to get the PICC line!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

