Sitting in the closet

“Sitting deep in the heart of Organ Cave, I let this sink in: new life starts in the dark. Whether it is a seed in the ground, a baby in the womb or Jesus in the tomb, it starts in the dark.” – Barbara Brown Taylor, Learing to Walk in the Dark

At very long last, the final installment of the Learning to Walk in the Dark series. Barbara Brown Taylor’s final instruction is both my favorite and least so. Favorite because – of course, wonderful, miraculous things are first born in the dark. Nearly everything is. Humans in the womb. Seeds in the ground. New life begins in the dark. Yes, the dark is scary, but wondrously, miraculously so. What is more terrifying and beautiful than the beginning of a new life, after all?

Least favorite because the instruction is to “Sit in a closet – It is often as close to a cave as city dwellers can get.” Okay. Um, you haven’t seen my house, but let me assure you – there is no closet that is empty enough for a human to fit inside. Well, that’s not entirely true. There is one: I could sit on the stepstool in my bedroom closet. And I do, actually, keep intending to. I’m just waiting for the right moment. I think sitting in the closet with the door closed might be just the thing I need when an anxiety attack comes on. When I’m hit by a wave of just being UPSET. This has happened twice in the last month (which is actually pretty good for me!), but neither time I was at home, so… no closet sitting.

Oddly, though, I’m kinda looking forward to it. I think the unfamiliar surrounding, the enforced dark quiet, might be just what I need to settle my breathing and practice meditation. I’ll let you know how it goes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sitting in the closet

  1. meghanoc says:

    sounds like you need a portable closet! such an interesting thing to be looking forward to your next upset! hope you get good results.

Leave a Reply

