The Bullsh*t Bargain

A great post today from Jen Pastiloff at the Manifest-Station. As a teaser to get you to read it, here are some quotes from the article:

“I am not religious at all but I realize when I get that desperate, when I feel as if my life is truly on the line in some way, I realize, in hindsight, that I think if I promise to be “good” for the rest of my life then nothing bad like this will happen to me again.”

“I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.” – Mother Teresa

“The more I think about it, the more I realize that there are no terms. There is no contract that I have ever signed which says if I behave then my life will be graced and I will never get sick, things will never go wrong and people will never die.”

This post really resonated with me, because I used to believe that since I was good, I deserved good things. Jen Pastiloff calls bullshit on that point of view. God, or Karma, or whatever you want to call it, doesn’t work that way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

