I’m still here

I feel like I’ve hit a dry spell when it comes to this blog, and to some extent, commenting on others’ blogs (though I still read and “like,” the lazy person’s method). I’m not sure why; part of it was that I was out of town for work for the last week+. But I think the other part is that I’ve finally, finally starting meditating!

Meditation is something I know is good for me and I’ve been meaning to do for a long time. Savasana at the end of yoga has always been a very meaningful time for me, and I find it enormously relaxing. However, the yoga studio I like the best is a bit pricey, and I haven’t gone since before Christmas. I kept saying I “should really just meditate” at home to get the same fix, but I needed enabling, and it finally came.

As part of a workplace initiative to reduce stress, we were all given free 21-day memberships to the Chopra Center, a meditation website run by Deepak Chopra (and supported by Oprah). I decided that I would use Lent and this free membership as both an excuse and a motivation to do a daily meditation. I am proud to say I’m now on day 15 of the program – and am meditating regularly for 15-20 minutes a day!

However, because I’m meditating, the burning need to write has lessened somewhat. Writing was my therapy. But meditation is another great way to process my thoughts and emotions, and I think it’s because of these daily meditations that I haven’t felt the need to write in over a week.

Thanks in advance for bearing with me during my short (I think) hiatus. Please know that I’m still reading you all daily and thinking of you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m still here

  1. Kerri says:

    Welcome back, I hope! You’ve been missed!!

  2. Welcome back – think of you and Ander often. Meditation sounds good. Writing is also my therapy, but it can be exhausting which is counter-productive in other ways…xx

Leave a Reply

