Birds!

In case you have been following my blog and it isn’t clear yet: I. Love. Birds. I know abstractly that I get this from my parents, yet I also recognize that bird-watching is an odd hobby for a 30-something – even though it’s rather perfect for a 30-something couple who both love hiking, one of whom who loves watching birds with binoculars and the other who loves taking pictures of nature (all photo credit below belongs to K, who patiently snaps the birds I ask her to!).

So, without further ado on this rainy Monday, some pictures of rarer bird sightings from our trip last weekend to the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore (Cowles Bog area) for the first good weekend of the spring bird migration! IDNL is an Audobon-recognized international bird watching destination, as the birds who migrate must fly around Lake Michigan due to the winds and stop in the dunes by the thousands. We intentionally avoided the big birding festival, though, as it’s a bit out of the price range for all the activities. Fortunately, we still had some great sightings! Besides the below, we also saw many red-winged blackbirds, goldfinch, yellow warblers and black-and-white warblers.

Happy spring!

Eastern bluebird

Eastern bluebird

Tree swallow

Tree swallow

Scarlet tanager

Scarlet tanager

A gorgeous blue jay (yes, I know they're common, but this one was so lovely!)

A gorgeous blue jay (yes, I know they’re common, but this one was so lovely!)

Red-bellied woodpecker (there were many, though there are more in the fall)

Red-bellied woodpecker (there were many, though there are more in the fall)

Yellow-rumped warbler

Yellow-rumped warbler

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Birds!

  1. Gretchen says:

    My younger sister, also in her 30s, is very in to bird watching. I think she gets teased a bit by her friends, but it’s something that invigorates her soul. Beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Me, too! We have a big garden and get lots of baltimore orioles, hummingbirds, red-chested grosbeaks, and the occasional indigo bunting. Our neighbour has seen pileated woodpeckers around, but so far we haven’t been so lucky! I think birdwatching is a perfectly suitable 30-something hobby 😉

    • babylossmama says:

      Jealous of your orioles and the indigo bunting! I’ve seen grosbeak and pileated woodpeckers aplenty at my in-laws house, but not here so much.

      • I’m jealous of that scarlet tanager! I don’t think we get those up here, though there are plenty of other cardinals (I just learned that they’re members of the cardinal family).

Leave a Reply

