“Everything doesn’t happen for a reason”

I’ve said it before, but it’s worth saying again: “Everything happens for a reason” is a harmful platitude that is simply untrue. Things happen, yes. Some people feel compelled to assign “reasons” as to why these things happen – fair enough. But this platitude is damaging and cruel, and here’s someone who says why far more eloquently than I could.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Everything doesn’t happen for a reason”

  1. I like this a lot, thank you for sharing!

    “Some things in life cannot be fixed. They can only be carried” is so true.

    I’ve had people say this to me about our infertility, our ectopic and many people have said it to me recently as a ‘survivor’ of a terrorist attack…it just doesn’t make any sense at all.

    X

    • babylossmama says:

      I know, right?? To me, the thing that pisses me off the most is that it didn’t happen to ME (well, it did, but let me explain). HE died. My son, with a life of his own. Implying that he died to teach ME a lesson devalues his life. What “reason” can you give HIM for his own death? You can’t. Am I making any sense? 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing. I also really like the line on how some things can only be carried.

Leave a comment