Cesarean mothers are BRAVE

My wonderful wife, K, sent this to me today. And it made me feel better. As a mom who never wanted a c-section, but now will never give birth vaginally, it was nice to hear this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cesarean mothers are BRAVE

  1. typhaine says:

    such an interesting perspective! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Emma says:

    This is fabulous! I’ve not had a c section, but I have a very beautiful friend who has birth grief because of her c secs, and this is a beautiful read with her in mind.
    Thanks for sharing x

    • babylossmama says:

      Birth grief – a new phrase to me, but definitely apt. I felt birth grief (“how could my body fail me like this?”) and was very angry and upset for months because the choice to birth vaginally was gone forever. It was something I always wanted to do, and yet will not have the experience – and it is a type of grief.

  3. meghanoc says:

    I remember seeing this a a year (a few years?) ago and remember thinking how well done it was. Letting someone cut you open to save your baby. amen!

  4. kaitlynva says:

    I elected to get augmented at 39 weeks with no clear indication. I felt like such a failure. It was the most difficult decision I had ever made. I was so confused and frustrated, I was physically sick myself, and I cried over the choice for days (with little input from my docs + nurses other than “hang in there until at least 39”). Then, after about 10 hrs of pitocin, I walked to the OR… So angry, so conflicted, so scared. But most of all, loving my kiddo so fiercely – just as you loved yours.

  5. kaitlynva says:

    If you like art, I’ve been loving some of Dali and Kahlo’s work that relates to some of these issues of women’s fertility, especially Space Venus by Dali (which I wrote a post about) and, well, pretty much everything by Kahlo! Reading a book that contains most of her paintings alongside autobiographical info, and I’m continually shocked and comforted by how many of her feelings and thoughts mirror my own. There’s no playbook for this, and virtually no historical representation, but it can be nice to know that others have walked similar roads before (even if it was seldom recorded…).

  6. Pingback: Breathe in life | baby boy blue

Leave a Reply

